News Bureau | University of Illinois

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign logo


2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
Email to a friend envelope icon for send to a friend

U. of I. provost Linda Katehi named to national committee by President Bush

Jeff Unger, News Bureau

Linda Katehi
Click photo to enlarge
Photo by L. Brian Stauffer
Linda Katehi, provost of the University of Illinois

Released 6/21/2007

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. —The White House said today that President Bush intends to name Linda Katehi, the provost of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, to the President’s Committee on the National Medal of Science.

Her three-year term would expire Dec. 31, 2009.

The committee, which comprises 12 scientists and engineers appointed by the president, evaluates nominees for the National Medal of Science. The medal was established by Congress in 1959. To date, it has been awarded to 425 scientists and engineers.

Katehi, who was the John A. Edwardson Dean of Engineering at Purdue University, began her duties as provost at Illinois in April 2006.

A native of Greece, Katehi earned a degree in mechanical and electrical engineering from the National Technical University of Athens in 1977. She came to the U.S. in 1979 to study at the University of California at Los Angeles, and earned master’s and doctoral degrees in electrical engineering there in 1981 and 1984.

She began her academic career in 1984 as a professor of electrical engineering at the University of Michigan, where she stayed for 18 years. Starting in 1994, she served in a succession of administrative roles in the College of Engineering, culminating with the position of associate dean for academic affairs from September 1999 through 2001.

In its news release, the White House said the president also intends to name four others to the medal committee.