News Bureau | University of Illinois

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign logo


2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
Email to a friend envelope icon for send to a friend

Five Illinois professors elected as 2003 AAAS Fellows

James Kloeppel, Physical Sciences Editor
(217) 244-1073;


CHAMPAIGN, Ill. — Five University of Illinois researchers – Ilesanmi Adesida, Craig M. Bethke, Keh-Yung (Norman) Cheng, Jeffrey S. Moore and Robert J. Novak – are among 348 scientists elected as 2003 fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

The new fellows will be formally recognized Feb. 14 for their contributions that advance science or foster its applications at the Fellows Forum during the AAAS annual meeting in Seattle. AAAS, which publishes the journal Science, was founded in 1848; it is the world’s largest general scientific society with 140,000 members in 130 countries and 272 affiliated societies. Election of fellows, who are nominated by their peers, began in 1874.

Adesida, a Willett Professor of Engineering and director of the Micro and Nanotechnology Laboratory, was chosen for contributions to advanced nanostructure materials processing and high-speed semiconductor devices and circuits.

Bethke, a professor of geology, was selected for fundamental discoveries in the forces that drive brines across sedimentary basins, migration of petroleum reserves, the thermodynamics of reacting geochemical systems, and microbial metabolism.

Cheng, a professor of electrical and computer engineering, was honored for distinguished contributions to heterostructure semiconductor materials and devices using molecular beam epitaxy.

Moore, a William H. and Janet Lycan Professor of Chemistry, was recognized for creative development of organic materials, polymers, and nanoscale devices.

Novak, a professor of medical entomology and scientist with the Illinois Natural History Survey, was chosen for fundamental biological studies of mosquitoes and for leadership in mosquito control in the United States, Africa and the Caribbean.