News Bureau | University of Illinois

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign logo


2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
Email to a friend envelope icon for send to a friend

Mothers Association elects officers

Jeff Unger, News Bureau
(217) 333-1085;


CHAMPAIGN, Ill. — Sena Nelson of Springfield has been elected president of the Mothers Association at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Nelson is the mother of James, a sophomore in the university’s College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Other newly elected Mothers Association officers include (EDITORS: See list).

The election was held during the annual Moms Weekend in April at Illinois. The Moms Weekend tradition began in 1921, and Illinois is thought to have been the first university in the nation to designate a weekend honoring students’ mothers.

The Mothers Association, established in 1923, works to promote a stronger relationship between the university and the citizens of Illinois.


BLOOMINGTON – Nancy Rutledge, board member
BOLINGBROOK – Heala Batchu, board member
CARLINVILLE – Sharon Behme, treasurer
COULTERVILLE – Cookie Campbell, board member
DARIEN – Debra Massi, secretary
EVERGREEN PARK – Christine Craven, second vice president
KANKAKEE – Kathy Meisenbach, board member
LANSING – Paula Zelanik, first vice president
LEWISTOWN – Barbara Kittell, board member
LITCHFIELD – Susan Griffin, board member
MARSHALL – Juliene Pendleton, board member
MILFORD – Sandy German, third vice president
MOUNT VERNON – Sarah Lee, board member
NAPERVILLE – Julianne Weiss, board member
NORTHBROOK – Jeanie Kennedy, board member
RANTOUL – Monica Zachary, board member
ROCKFORD – Ruth Jansson, board member
SPRINGFIELD – Sena Nelson, president
TAYLOR RIDGE – Marcia Winter, board member


MISSOURI, St. Louis – Kathryn Phillips, board member
TEXAS, Houston – Shelley Levine, board member