News Bureau | University of Illinois

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign logo


2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
Email to a friend envelope icon for send to a friend

Avery Brundage scholarships granted to 20 U. of I. students

Released 5/14/2007

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. — Twenty University of Illinois students from the Urbana-Champaign, Chicago and Springfield campuses have won Avery Brundage Scholarships for excellence in academics and athletics. Each student will receive $2,500 for the 2007-2008 academic year.

The six recipients from the Urbana-Champaign campus are (EDITORS: See list.).

The Avery Brundage Scholarship Fund Committee consists of eight representatives from the faculties and student bodies of the three U. of I. campuses. The committee selects students who engage in athletics for personal development rather than as preparation for professional sports. The students must be working toward bachelor’s, master’s or doctoral degrees, and they must be in the upper 25 percent of their undergraduate class or in good academic standing in their graduate program.

The scholarship program was established in 1974 by an endowment from the late Avery Brundage, a 1909 U. of I. graduate and president of the International Olympic Committee from 1952 to 1972. Brundage participated in the 1912 Olympics in Stockholm as a pentathlete and decathlete. He died May 8, 1975.

Since 1974, 757 scholarships have been awarded, totaling $908,700.


CHAMPAIGN – Amy Ruggiero
DECATUR – Drew Sullivan
DEERFIELD – Bailey Hatch
MONTICELLO – Molly Lawhead
URBANA – Meredith Barnes
WHEATON – Shawna Culp