News Bureau | University of Illinois

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign logo


2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
Email to a friend envelope icon for send to a friend

Annual instructional awards banquet set for today

Sarah Scalia, News Bureau


CHAMPAIGN, Ill. — Eighteen faculty members at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, one academic professional and five teaching assistants will be honored for excellence in teaching and advising today (April 25) at the annual Instructional Awards banquet in the Illini Union, 1401 W. Green St., Urbana.

Faculty winners of the Campus Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching are Jasna D. Jovanovic, human and community development; Gary J. Kling, natural resources and environmental sciences; Kimberly Shinew, recreation, sport and tourism; Mark S. Micale, history; and David H. Tewksbury, speech communication.

Instructional staff winners of the award are Ellen Fireman, statistics; Sandra Goss Lucas, psychology; and Leslie Klis McNeil, biochemistry.

Graduate teaching assistants who will receive the award are Emma M. Betz, Germanic languages and literature; Pinaki Chakraborty, theoretical and applied mechanics; Grace E. Cho, psychology; E.K. Tan, comparative and world literature; and Mandy L. Wescott, English.
Liora Bresler, curriculum and instruction, and Thomas B. Ginsburg, law, will receive the Campus Award for Excellence in Graduate and Professional Teaching.

The awards recognize professors and graduate teaching assistants who display consistently excellent performance in the classroom, take innovative approaches to teaching, positively affect the lives of their students, and make other contributions to improved instruction, including influencing the curriculum.

Faculty members who are selected for the award receive $5,000 and a $3,000 raise; instructional staff members receive $4,000 and a $1,500 raise; graduate teaching assistants receive $3,500.

Others to be honored at the banquet:

Paul B. Kelter, professor and director of general chemistry, and Leonard Pitt, professor of computer science, will be recognized as Distinguished Teacher/Scholars for 2004-05. Cleora J. D’Arcy, professor of crop sciences, and Gail E. Hawisher, professor of English, will be recognized as Distinguished Teacher/Scholars for 2005-06. The program promotes excellence in teaching by honoring and supporting outstanding faculty members who take an active role in enhancing teaching and learning on the UI campus. During the past year, these honorees utilized their skills to mentor other faculty members. They will retain the title of University Distinguished Teacher/Scholar throughout their Illinois careers.

Dorothy Espelage, professor of educational psychology, will receive the Award for Excellence in Off-Campus Teaching, which provides $5,000 to the recipient.

Darrel J. Kesler, professor of animal sciences, will receive the Campus Award for Excellence in Guiding Undergraduate Research, a $2,000 award designed to foster and reward excellence in involving and guiding undergraduate students in scholarly research.

Linda F. Hasib, aviation, and Samuel N. Kamin, professor of computer science, will receive the Campus Award for Excellence in Advising Undergraduate Students, which provides $2,000 to each recipient.

Walter L. Hurley, professor of animal sciences, will receive the Campus Award for Innovation in Undergraduate Instruction Using Educational Technologies. The award provides $2,000 to the recipient.