News Bureau | University of Illinois

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign logo


2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
Email to a friend envelope icon for send to a friend

Two professors win Guggenheim Fellowships

Greg Jaeger, News Bureau
(217) 333-1085;


CHAMPAIGN, Ill. — Two University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign professors are among the 184 artists, scholars and scientists named as 2003 Guggenheim Fellows.

Sheldon H. Jacobson, a professor of industrial engineering, a Willett Faculty Scholar and the director of the Simulation Optimization Laboratory, received the award for his work with aviation security problems and solutions.

Gene E. Robinson, a professor of entomology and the director of the neuroscience program, was honored for his work with genes and social behavior.

The Guggenheim Fellows are appointed on the basis of distinguished achievement and exceptional promise. Many of the Fellows hold positions at colleges and universities, and Illinois is one of 89 institutions represented by Guggenheim Fellows this year.

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation awarded $6.75 million in fellowships this year.