News Bureau | University of Illinois

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign logo


2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
Email to a friend envelope icon for send to a friend

College of Commerce honors top students

Released 6/4/2002

Mary Timmins, College of Commerce and Business Administration
(217) 265-0862;

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. — The College of Commerce and Business Administration at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign honored its outstanding students at its annual Awards Banquet April 28 in the Illini Union in Urbana.

The recipients and their awards (EDITORS: See list):

Recognized as one of the leading business schools, the college has outstanding programs in accounting, business, economics and finance. The college has more than 3,000 undergraduates, 700 MBA and master’s students and 175 doctoral candidates. All states and more than 30 nations are represented in the college student body.

The awards banquet is sponsored by the college Office for Alumni and External Affairs and the Council of Presidents, a student group.


ADDISON – Cathy Bierowiec, James Newton Matthews Scholar, Albert and Mildred Vondenbosch Scholarship
AURORA – Adam Freda, James Newton Matthews Scholar, FMC Award of Excellence Scholarship; Katherine Laughlin, Marvin and Susan Moses Scholarship, Steven B. Hahn Scholarship; Stephen LeRoy, Steven B. Hahn Scholarship; Ryan Pierceall, Robert P. Reuss Scholarship
BATAVIA – Stephen Hopkins, Russo Scholarship
BUFFALO GROVE – Michael Gutfraynd, Kenneth W. Perry Scholarship
CARBONDALE – Amanda Sheffer, Leiby S. Hall Scholarship
CHAMPAIGN – Timothy W. Carter, Barent and Jessie Springsted Scholarship; Adam Evans, Cozad Entrepreneurship Scholarship; Fernanda Toros, Leonard J. and Sharon Crowley Santow Award for Teaching Excellence, 2001-02 Laura L. Fraley Award, 2002 Undergraduate Excellence-in-Teaching by a Teaching Assistant Award; Christine LaTriece Wade. Caterpillar Excellence Award, Generation to Generation Scholarship
CHICAGO – (17) Guadalupe Hernandez, James J. and June D. Gustat Award
(37) Krystal Blake, Seymour Smidt Scholarship
(38) Carina Ortega, Dean’s List, Mom’s Day Scholastic Award, Ken Perry Scholarship
(43) Sean K. Hunter, Honeywell Award
(45) Vimal H. Prajapati, Hiram H. Belnap
COLONA – Scott Rokis, President’s Award
DECATUR – William Wingard, Kenneth P. Santee Graduate Fellowship
DEKALB – Matthew Brown, Paul C. Fulton Scholarship, Dean’s List; Michael Brown, FMC Award of Excellence Scholarship; Sandra Kim, Walgreen Retail Bridge Scholarship
DOWNERS GROVE – Kent J. Evans, Caterpillar Excellence Award
DUNDEE – Amanda Patrick, Senior 100 Honorary
EAST ST. LOUIS – Lavon Singleton, Cozad Entrepreneurship Scholarship, Dean’s List (Spring 2001), Steven B. Hahn Scholarship, Mom’s Day Scholastic Award
EDWARDS – Jennifer Kim, James Newton Matthews Scholar, Leiby S. Hall Scholarship
EL PASO – Jeff Schmitt, Ford Undergraduate Business Scholarship, Beta Gamma Sigma
ELK GROVE – Michael Grygo, William T. Cameron Banking Scholarship
ELLERY – Laura Mann, Leiby S. Hall Scholarship
FRANKFORT – John M. Pascarella, IDM General Scholarship
GENESEO – Steven Harper, Harry Gray Fellowship
GLEN ELLYN – Kevin B. Mammoser, Education Foundation of CCIM Institute Scholarship
GLENDALE HEIGHTS – Nikita Andrews, Camelia Mannings Scholarship
GLENVIEW – Al Goldstein, Senior 100 Honorary, Beta Gamma Sigma, CFA Scholarship, Dean’s List, Alpha Lambda Delta, Golden Key, Phi Kappa Phi; Todd C. Johnson, Marie E. Madigan Scholarship, Leiby S. Hall Scholarship
HAVANA – Steven Emme, Mead Family Foundation Endowed Scholarship, Top Ten Seniors Award, Senior 100 Honorary
LACON – Mackenzie Breen, Senior 100 Honorary
LANSING – Mark T. Padjen, Leiby S. Hall Scholarship, Senior 100 Honorary, Top Ten Seniors Award
LINCOLN – Sarah Hahn, Ken and Betty Hughes Scholarship
LONG GROVE – Seema Joglekar, Philip Morris Scholarship
MAROA – Lindsey Daggett, Leiby S. Hall Scholarship; Scott Wentworth, Leiby S. Hall Scholarship, University Honors (Bronze Tablet Scholar)
MATTESON – Veronica Uwumarogie, John L. and Ruth B. Morton Scholarship
MATTOON – Nathan Saegesser, Senior 100 Honorary, William T. Cameron Scholarship
MOLINE – Karlie Bert, Goldie Maxine Cord and Marcus Franklin Cord Scholarship
MONMOUTH – Cory Hill, Hobart L. and Mary K. Peer Award, University Honors (Bronze Tablet Scholar), Senior 100 Honorary
MORRIS – Chip Jorstad, College of Commerce and Business Administration and the Council of Presidents Student Leadership Award
MOUNT CARMEL – Joseph R. Dee IV, University Honors (Bronze Tablet Scholar), Senior 100 Honorary
MUNDELEIN – Jennifer Ochab, George Huff Award, Academic All-Big Ten Team, Chi Alpha Sigma - National College Athlete Honor Society
NAPERVILLE – Brian John Jeselnick, Senior 100 Honorary; Tracey Miller, Leiby S. Hall Scholarship, Caterpillar IDM Scholarship
NASHVILLE – Lisa Dinkelman, Leiby S. Hall Scholarship
NILES – Salvatore Galati, FMC Award of Excellence
OAK BROOK – Courtney Collins, Russo Scholarship, CIBER Scholarship, National Society of Collegiate Scholars
OKAWVILLE – Andrea Hasheider, Leiby S. Hall Scholarship, Top Ten Seniors Award
OREGON – Teri Taylor, Ken Perry Scholarship
OSWEGO – Judy Barocio, Steven Hahn Scholarship Award
PALATINE – Meghan J. Richards, George H. and Gertrude J. Schiff Scholarship
PALOS HILLS – Valerie Stefanski, Leiby S. Hall Scholarship
PARK RIDGE – Mark Wojteczko, Albert and Mildred Vondenbosch Scholarship
PEORIA – David P. Walden, Senior 100 Honorary
PONTIAC – Aaron J. Wahls, George Huff Award Winner, Academic All-Big Ten, Nominee to the 2002 NCAA Foundation Leadership Conference
QUINCY – Amina Hafez, Kenneth P. Santee Graduate Scholarship
ROCHELLE – Alison Tolan, Russo Scholarship
ST. CHARLES – Samantha Peterson, Senior 100 Honorary
ST. JOSEPH – Amy Franzen, Leiby S. Hall Scholarship
SCHAUMBURG – Jeffrey Behrens, James Newton Matthews Scholar, Leiby S. Hall Scholarship
SKOKIE – Angela Park, Leiby S. Hall Scholarship
STERLING – Joanna L. Rodgers, Commerce Council Outstanding Teaching Award
TINLEY PARK – James Tuton, FMC Award of Excellence Scholarship
URBANA – Prentice D. Barbee, Michael K. Magill Scholarship, Senior 100 Honorary
VALMEYER – Alison Garleb, Leiby S. Hall Scholarship
WATSEKA – Amanda Bossong, Steven B. Hahn Scholarship
WESTERN SPRINGS – Erica Johnson, James Newton Matthews Scholar, Russo Scholarship
WHEATON – Peter S. Sizgoric, Top Ten Seniors Award, Senior 100 Honorary, Robert Matz Honorary Scholarship


CALIFORNIA, National City – Nino Rey Deleon, George H. and Gertrude J. Schiff Scholarship
IOWA, Davenport – Jennifer McGaffigan, George Huff Award, Dean’s List
MASSACHUSETTS, Walpole – Sean Hannigan, Kenneth P. Santee Graduate Fellowship
NEW YORK, Pittsford – Jason Singh Badesha, Leiby S. Hall Scholarship, John W. Queenan Scholarship, University Honors (Bronze Tablet Scholar)
Schenectady – Roland Gau, Kenneth P. Santee Graduate Fellowship, MBA Leadership Grant, O’Donnell Foundation Internship
TENNESSEE, Johnson City – Samantha Courtney Davis, Emmerson Cammack Undergraduate Scholarship


TAIWAN, Taipei – Jannet Chang, Robert E. Demarest Award

(EDITORS: Those students' whose complete street addresses were omitted requested that that information not be included in the release.)