News Bureau | University of Illinois

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign logo


2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
Email to a friend envelope icon for send to a friend

UI Police officers honored with awards April 24

Jeff Unger, News Bureau
(217) 333-1085;


CHAMPAIGN, Ill. — Aaron Frederick will be honored as University of Illinois police officer of the year during a reception Wednesday afternoon hosted by the Division of Public Safety and held at the Levis Faculty Center in Urbana.

Officer Doug Beckman will receive the Lifesaving Award for having helped administer CPR to a man who had suffered a heart attack.

Three people will be given the Director of Public Safety Recognition award: Capt. Rick Kallmayer, for assisting with the duties of acting director of public safety; Officer Barb Robbins, for her contributions to community policing in her focus area; and Maureen Banks, for her services as chairperson of the public safety advisory committee.

Officer Jody Huffman will receive two Merit awards. One was for having discovered a fire at an apartment building, evacuating the building and extinguishing the fire; the other award was in recognition of her work in apprehending armed robbers. Cpl. John Brown, Cpl. Joan Fiesta and officers Tom Geis and Tim Harper also will be honored with merit awards for apprehending armed robbers.

Capt. Kris Fitpatrick will receive a Commendation Award for assisting with the duties of acting director of public safety.
Other awards:

orange dot Marksmanship: Kallmayer, first place; officers George Sandwick and Brian Tison, second (tie); Officer William Smoot Jr., third.

orange dot Cecil Coleman Award: Stan Apperson, who is to be recognized for his assistance with the summer youth risk managment program.

orange dot Civilian Employee of the Year Award: Joyce Humes.

orange dot Student Patrol Officer Commendation: J. Perry Overbey, who is to be honored for a training program he developed on the use of police radios by student patrol officers.

orange dot Student Patrol Officer of the Year Award: Greg Manzana.

Also nominated for the Police Officer of the Year Award were officers Chris Burke, Aaron Frederick and Barb Robbins.