News Bureau | University of Illinois

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign logo


2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
Email to a friend envelope icon for send to a friend

UI Flying Team wins regional competition

Jeff Unger, News Bureau
(217) 333-1085;


CHAMPAIGN, Ill. — The student flight team of the University of Illinois Institute of Aviation placed first in the National Intercollegiate Flying Association Region Eight SAFECON competition Nov. 7-15 in Murfreesboro, Tenn.

(EDITORS: See list.)

SAFECON is the Safety and Flight Evaluation Conference.

The UI team competed against Lewis University, Middle Tennessee State University, Purdue University and Southern Illinois University.

The first-place finish qualifies the UI team to compete against about 30 other teams for the national championship in May 2002 at Ohio State University.

The UI team also finished first in flight events and in ground events. Jennie Davis received an award for top female pilot. David Penney won the Scot Perry Memorial Award.


ANTIOCH HEIGHTS – Jennifer Dille, 40841 Nevelier Drive
DECATUR – Jenna Davis, 5 Park Lane Circle
ELGIN – Charles Shields, 1730 Country Knoll Lane
FORSYTH – Brent Furrow, 342 Phillip Circle
GRAYSLAKE – Adam Nagao, 3 Brigantine Lane
HAMPSHIRE – John Slater, 14N432 US Route 20
LAKE ZURICH – David Penney, 215 Alpine Drive
LOMBARD – Jason Lahr, 526 Cedar Lane
MORRIS – Brian Hemmersbach, 2613 Big Bluestem Road; Amy Rodriguez, 1024 Oriole Drive
ORLAND PARK – Michael O’Malley, 17174 Highwood Drive
ROSEMONT – Edward Balogh, 10010 W. Norwood
ST. CHARLES – Todd Kowalski, 39W427 Baert Lane
SAUK VILLAGE – Matthew Kiger, 2048 217th St.


MARYLAND, Gaitersburg – Wei Zheng, 16 Sebastiani Boulevard
PENNSYLVANIA, Pittsburgh – Julie Snyder, 5682 Phillips Ave.
VIRGINIA, Mclean – Andrew Oliphant, 6603 Heidi Court
Waterford – Alex Kenesson, 15584 2nd St.