News Bureau | University of Illinois

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign logo


2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
Email to a friend envelope icon for send to a friend

Two students receive Goldwater Scholarships

Jeff Unger, News Bureau
(217) 333-1085;


CHAMPAIGN, Ill. — Two University of Illinois students will receive the Goldwater Scholarship, which is awarded to undergraduate students who excel in the study of mathematics, the natural sciences or engineering.

This year’s scholarship recipients are Harish P. Agarwal, and David M. Webber,
Agarwal is a double degree candidate in physics and computer engineering. He plans to earn a doctorate in physics.
Webber, who is majoring in physics, plans to earn a doctorate with a specialization in either quantum computing or fusion science.

Agarwal and Webber work in a research group under the guidance of Frederick Lamb and Stuart Shapiro, professors of astronomy and of physics, in the Center for Theoretical Astrophysics.

The trustees of the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation awarded 302 scholarships for the 2001-2002 academic year to undergraduate sophomores and juniors from all 50 states and Puerto Rico.

The scholars were selected on the basis of academic merit from a field of 1,164 mathematics, science, and engineering students who were nominated by the faculties of colleges and universities nationwide.

The one- and two-year scholarships will cover the cost of tuition, fees, books, and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year.