News Bureau | University of Illinois

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign logo


2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008
Email to a friend envelope icon for send to a friend

Four UI students to receive Goldwater Scholarships

Jeff Unger, News Bureau
(217) 333-1085;


CHAMPAIGN, Ill. -- Four University of Illinois students will receive the Goldwater Scholarship, which is awarded to undergraduate students who excel in the study of mathematics, the natural sciences or engineering.

This year's scholarship recipients are David A. Fike, Benjamin R. Marks, Jared J. Mehl, and Erik R. Stauffer

Fike is majoring in physics and astronomy with minors in geology, international studies (German) and mathematics. He plans to earn a doctorate in microgeobiology.

Mehl is majoring in physics with a 4.0 grade-point average (on a 4.0 scale). He intends to earn a doctorate in physics.

Marks is majoring in biochemistry and plans to obtain joint Ph.D./M.D. degrees and then to study cancer.

Stauffer is studying electrical engineering with a 4.0 grade-point average. He plans to earn a doctorate in signal processing and communication.

The four UI students were among the 309 Goldwater scholarship recipients chosen from 1,176 nominees.

The one- and two-year scholarships cover the cost of tuition, fees, books, and room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year.

The federally funded Goldwater scholarships were authorized by Congress in 1986 in memory of the late U.S. senator and former presidential candidate Barry M. Goldwater.

They are awarded to students who will be college juniors or seniors in the following scholastic year.