Seven UI researchers named 1996 AAAS fellows

By Jim Barlow

Seven UI researchers -- Narendra Ahuja, Stephen G. Bishop, William F. Brewer, James J. Coleman, Chester S. Gardner, Laura H. Greene and Gene E. Robinson -- are among 283 scientists elected as 1996 fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Fellowship recognizes "efforts toward advancing science or fostering applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished," according to the association. With more than 144,000 members, the AAAS is the world's largest general science organization. The association, which publishes the weekly journal Science, was founded in 1848. The tradition of naming fellows began in 1874.

Ahuja, a professor of electrical and computer engineering and an affiliate of the Beckman Institute, was honored for his advancements in the field of information, computing and communication. He is known for his research in computer vision, robotics, artificial intelligence and image processing.

Bishop, director of the UI Microelectronics Laboratory, was selected for his work in physics. He studies compound semiconductors, photoluminescence and magnetic resonance. Bishop is a professor of electrical and computer engineering and an affiliate of the Beckman Institute.

Brewer was selected for his contributions in psychology. He holds appointments in the psychology department, the Institute for Communications Research and the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology. Brewer studies cognition and memory.

The AAAS recognized Coleman for his engineering research. As a professor of electrical and computer engineering, he studies semiconductor lasers and optoelectronic devices. He also holds appointments in the UI Microelectronics and Coordinated Science laboratories, and he is an affiliate of materials science and engineering.

Gardner, a professor of electrical and computer engineering and formerly the vice chancellor for research, was chosen for his work in engineering. Among his specialties are atmospheric physics, satellite laser ranging, laser remote sensing and laser altimetry.

Greene, a professor of physics and of the UI Center for Advanced Study, was chosen for her contributions in physics. Her work centers on superconductivity, semiconductors, the physics of new materials and film growth.

Robinson, a professor of entomology, was honored for research in the biological sciences. He is known for his studies on the mechanisms of behavior in social insects, particularly the division of labor among honey bees.

The new fellows, who were elected in late September, will be recognized Feb. 15, at the AAAS annual meeting in Seattle.


Comments to: Inside Illinois Editor Doris Dahl, (217) 333-2895,

More about Inside Illinois and its staff
Back to this issue's index
Back to the Inside Illinois Index Page

Back to the U. of I. News Bureau

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign