"Notable" reports honors, awards, offices and other outstanding
achievements of faculty and staff members as space permits.

Carlos Llerena-Aguirre, professor of visual journalism, was the graphic
consultant and graphic designer for the book "500 Anos Despues: El Nuevo
Rostro del Peru," published by Servicios Especiales de Edicion, Lima, Peru,
and Spain. Aguirre's illustruations will be included in the book "Art of
the Op-Ed Page of the New York Times," which will be published this year.

Dennis Assanis, professor of mechanical and industrial engineering,
received an award from the Internal Combustion Engine Division of the
American Society of Manufacturing Engineers for the outstanding paper.
Assanis also co-organized and chaired the Symposium on Basic Engine
Processes, which was held at the association's fall technical conference.

Charles J. Bareis, professor of anthropology, was given the Distinguished
Service Award from the Illinois Archaeological Survey for his 30 years of
service as its secretary-treasurer. In the future, the service award will
be called the Charles J. Bareis Distinguished Service Award. 

Renee T. Clift, professor of curriculum and instruction, was one of three
winners of the Richard A. Meade Award for Research in English Education,
granted by the Conference on English Education, a constituent group of the
National Council of Teachers of English. The award recognizes selected
published research that investigates English/language arts teacher

Richard DeVor, professor of industrial engineering, has been elected to a
three-year term on the board of advisers of the Machining Technology
Association of the Society of Manufacturing Engineers.

J. Gary Eden, professor of electrical and computer engineering, has been
reappointed vice president of technical affairs of the Lasers and
Electro-Optics Society of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic

Edwin L. Goldwasser, professor emeritus of physics, has been appointed a
Ron and Maxine Linde Distinguished Scholar in the Division of Physics,
Mathematics and Astronomy at the California Institute of Technology.
Goldwasser's appointment is for eight months.

The catalog for the Krannert Art Museum exhibition "Out of Town: The
Williamsburg Paradigm" has received two awards. Designed by Nan Goggin,
professor of art and design, the catalog was chosen for the "Around 100"
show of books that opened at the American Center for Design in Chicago in
September. The catalog also was one of five out of 1,416 entries to win a
gold award from the University and College Designers Association.  

The American Anthropological Association's Society for Humanistic
Anthropology awarded Alma Gottlieb, professor of anthropology, and Philip
Graham, professor of English, the 1993 Victor Turner Prize in Ethnographic
Writing for their book "Parallel Worlds: An Anthropologist and a Writer
Encounter Africa." Graham also received the William Peden Prize in Short
Fiction for his short story "Angel," honored by "The Missouri Review" as
the best work of fiction to appear in the magazine's previous volume year.

Joseph E. Greene, professor of materials science and engineering, was named
a fellow of the American Vacuum Society in recognition of his "outstanding
research in thin-film science with emphasis on the use of low-energy
ion/surface interactions and photo-induced reactions to controllably alter
film nucleation and growth kinetics."

Margaret Grossman, professor of agricultural law in the department of
agricultural economics, has received the Distinguished Service Award, the
highest honor of the American Agricultural Law Association. The award
recognizes distinguished contributions to agricultural law in practice,
research, teaching, extension, administration or business.

C.K. Gunsalus, associate vice chancellor for research and assistant to the
chancellor, was reappointed to the Committee on Scientific Freedom and
Responsibility of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
Gunsalus has been appointed chair of the committee, and will serve until 199
7 in that capacity.

Lynne B. Hellmer, director of human resources development, was named the
"Boss of the Year" by the UI's Secretariat.

Karl Hess, professor of electrical and computer engineering, research
professor in the Beckman Institute and in the Coordinated Science
Laboratory, has been granted the J.J. Ebers Award from the Electron Devices
Society of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Inc. for
"seminal contributions to electronic transport in semiconductors and in
quantum well heterostructures at high energies." The Ebers Award was
established to recognize and honor accomplishment of unusual merit in the
electron device field.

Nick Holonyak, the John Bardeen Professor of Electrical and Computer
Engineering and of physics, has been selected to receive an honorary degree
from the University of Notre Dame in recognition of his work in
semiconductor materials and devices and his "willingness to serve as a
teacher-mentor to graduate students."

Janet Keller, professor of anthropology, was given the 1993 President's
Award at the American Anthropological Association meeting in Washington,
D.C., for "extraordinary service on AAA commissions, committees and special
task forces."

Katharine J. Kral, director for business and financial operations in the
Office of Business Affairs, was elected president of the Central
Association of College and University Business Officers. 

Susan Hart Orban, electrician, has received the first Betty Hembrough
Award, given by the Chancellor's Committee on the Status of Women to
someone who has contributed significantly to the well-being of women at the
UI. Hembrough was a long-time director of the Office of Women's Programs.

John E. Prussing, professor of aeronautical and astronautical engineering,
was elected a fellow in the American Institute of Aeronautics and
Astronautics. He was cited for "contributing to astrodynamics research and
education, and for service to the aerospace community."

Charles Schlichter, professor of physics, has received the 1993 Department
of Energy Prize for Outstanding Scientific Accomplishments in Solid State
Physics for his work on "Experimental Evidence on the Pairing State of
High-Temperature Superconductors From Low Field 63Cu and 17O NMR." The
award carries a $50,000 prize.  

Stephen Shafer, assistant dean and pre-law adviser in the College of
Liberal Arts and Sciences, was program coordinator and host for the 1993
Annual Conference of the Midwest Association of Pre-Law Advisers, which
took place at the UI last fall. Advisers from more than 50 undergraduate
institutions and representatives from more than 20 law schools attended.
Shafer also coordinated a Law Day the day after the conference concluded
when 60 additional law schools came to campus to speak to prospective

James B. Sinclair, professor of plant pathology and interim director of the
National Soybean Research Laboratory, was elected a fellow of the American
Phytopathological Society, the highest honor awarded by the society to its
members. Sinclair was recognized for his outstanding contributions to
research and graduate education related to soybean diseases and their
control, particularly to the development of an international network of
soybean scientists.

Stephen G. Sligar, professor of biochemistry, has been elected a fellow of
the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He was honored for
"applying a broad expertise in the classical fields of physics, chemistry
and biology to the fundamental molecular mechanisms of electron transfer,
molecular recognition and oxygenase catalysis." 

Henry L. Taylor, director of the Institute of Aviation, has been appointed
to the U.S. Air Force Scientific Advisory Board, which reviews critical
research and development issues of interest to the Air Force. 

UIUC -- Inside Illinois -- 1994/01-20-94