News Bureau | University of Illinois

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign logo

Article »

Dads Association announces John Menees Library Award recipients

11/21/2011 | Emily Lyons, Parent Programs Office | 217-333-7063;

[ Email | Share ] CHAMPAIGN, Ill. — The Dads Association at the University of Illinois announced the 2011 John Menees Library Award Recipients at its annual banquet Nov. 11.

The recipients and their colleges (EDITORS, see list):

Students are selected based on academic achievement. Recipients include the top three students from a single college who have completed their sophomore year as well as students who have a 4.0 (out of a 4.0) cumulative grade-point average at the end of their sophomore year. The association donates $45 per winner to purchase a book in each student’s name for the university library.

This year, the awards are given in honor of Menees, who served nearly 30 years on the Dads Association board of directors.

 The Dads Association, established in 1922, is one of the nation’s longest-serving parent organizations.  The association supports programs, services and activities that promote the health, safety and well-being of the university community.


ARLINGTON  HEIGHTS – Mauricio Dubovoy, Business; Lauren Pellant, Liberal Arts and Sciences
AUBURN – Alison Rhoades, Fine and Applied Arts
BELLEVILLE – Aaron R. Phelps, Engineering
BLOOMINGTON – Brittany McLean, Business
BURR RIDGE – Amanda Rowland, Education
CARBONDALE – Jerry Chang, Engineering
CAROL STREAM – Quinn Lake, Aviation
CARY – Joseph Brokaw, Business
CHAMPAIGN – Daniel Borup, Engineering
CHICAGO – Patricia Swiontek, Social Work
CRYSTAL LAKE – Lara Troszak, Liberal Arts and Sciences
DECATUR – Marian Stauder, Education
DEERFIELD – Caitlin Case, Fine and Applied Arts; Jacob Goldstein, Media
ELLSWORTH – Claire Benjamin, Media
FRANKFORT – Jeffrey Trost, Liberal Arts and Sciences
GLENWOOD – Emily Siner, Media
HARWOOD HEIGHTS – Wala Mateusz, Engineering
HERSCHER – Emily Landeck, Social Work
HIGHLAND PARK – Zachary Weiner, Engineering; Pamela Hochwert, Education
HOFFMAN ESTATES – Matthew Schuelke, Engineering
KEWANEE – Jean Abbott, Liberal Arts and Sciences
LAGRANGE – David Wisthuff, Applied Health Sciences
LAGRANGE PARK – Madelyn Murphy, Agriculture, Consumer and Environmental Sciences
LAKE ZURICH – Timothy Ewan, Engineering
LINCOLNSHIRE – Sydney May, Social Work
LITCHFIELD – Joseph Weber, Liberal Arts and Sciences
MACHESNEY PARK – Teresa Borowski, Liberal Arts and Sciences
MAHOMET – Alexandra Lundquist, Liberal Arts and Sciences
NAPERVILLE – Demetre Klebaner, Liberal Arts and Sciences
NORTHBROOK – Conner Olsen, Applied Health Sciences; Emily Town, Nursing; Arik Wonsover, Media
OAK LAWN – Alexa Weiler, Agriculture, Consumer and Environmental Sciences
PAXTON – Keith Bergman, Aviation
PORT BYRON – Briana Grymonprez, Agriculture, Consumer and Environmental Sciences
ROSELLE – Saori Kise, Nursing
ST. CHARLES – Allison Hopper, Business; Kyle Mueller, Applied Health Sciences
SIDNEY – Lauren Shoukry, Nursing
SKOKIE – Charles Lederer, Business
SPRINGFIELD – Allison Zuck, Fine and Applied Arts
URBANA – Brent Cork, Aviation; Antoine DeJong, Liberal Arts and Sciences; Adina Raizen, Liberal Arts and Sciences
WHEATON – Vincent Kania, Engineering
WHITE HEATH – Christine Rhoades, Engineering


FLORIDA, Boca Raton – Onur Karaman, Engineering
MISSOURI, Chesterfield – David R. Goldstein, Engineering
OHIO, Mason – Eric Wei, Engineering


CHINA – Mo Deng, Engineering; Xiao Du, Engineering; Gao Tianqi, Engineering; Ma Hongda, Engineering; Jingtian Hu, Engineering; Zhang Jingrui, Engineering
SINGAPORE – Rajarshi Roy, Engineering

[ Email | Share ]


Highlights »