Home | About Us | Contact Us | For Media |
News Bureau Welcome to the News Bureau

Inside Illinois
II Archives
II Advertising
About II


Editor's Choice:
Illinois in the News

Campus Calendar

Other News Sources


PUBLICATIONS Inside Illinois Vol. 20, No. 7, Oct. 5, 2000

A report of honors, awards, offices and other outstanding achievements of faculty and staff members

civil service
The 2000-2001 UI Civil Service Employees and Dependents Scholarship recipients were recognized at a reception in June. Three employees and four dependents of employees were selected to receive the scholarships. Employees receiving the award were Debbie Dietz, typing III clerk, McKinley Health Center; Kimmy Farris, staff secretary, College of Applied Life Studies; and Pamela Iverson, secretary IV, College of Commerce and Business Administration.

Dependents receiving the scholarships were: Julia Dossett (daughter of Claire Dolski, secretary IV, School of Art and Design); Kimberly Frederick (daughter of Janet Wade Frederick, secretary IV, College of Applied Life Studies); Nathan Newcomb (son of Paula Newcomb, graphics II, University Press); Brian Weber (son of Thomas Weber, electrician, Operation and Maintenance, and Aretta Weber, staff secretary, School of Molecular and Cellular Biology).

Hassan Aref, professor and head of the department of theoretical and applied mechanics, has been selected as the 2000 recipient of the Otto Laporte Award from the American Physical Society (APS).

The award, which recognizes Aref for "pioneering contributions to the study of chaotic motion in fluids, scientific computation, and vortex dynamics, and most notably for the development of the concept of chaotic advection," will be presented Nov. 20 at the APS Division of Fluid Dynamics meeting in Washington, D.C.

Vernon L. Snoeyink, professor of environmental engineering, was awarded the Warren A. Hall Medal by the Universities Council on Water Resources at its annual meeting in August. The medal recognizes unusual accomplishments and distinction of an individual in the water resources field. It is presented annually to an educator devoted to the advancement of knowledge in water resources through teaching, research, and/or public service.

James E. Peters, a professor of mechanical and industrial engineering at the time of his death, became the first holder of the James W. Bayne professorship in mechanical and industrial engineering at a posthumous investiture ceremony in September. Peters was a distinguished researcher in the field of combustion, with primary emphasis on the field of two-phase flow phenomena, to which he made fundamental contributions to the basic understanding of liquid spray behavior, air pollution control, and coal combustion.

Joanne and Alexander Rankin V established the Bayne professorship to honor James W. Bayne, who served 50 years in the UI department of mechanical and industrial engineering.

fine and applied arts
Jonathan Fineberg, professor of art, gave an invited talk at a conference titled "The Art of the Story: Images and the Inner World of the Child." Fineberg’s lecture, "Lost Innocence – Childhood and Contemporary Art," was presented by the Mary and Leigh Block Museum of Art. The conference was held at the Northwestern University Library.

Ronald Hedlund, professor of music, was invited to be a guest lecturer, panelist and solo artist at the 4th International Vocal Health Symposium in Salzburg, Austria. In addition to his appearance as vocal soloist at the symposium’s gala concert, Hedlund’s lecture focused on rehabilitation techniques for singers recovering from abuse or pathology.

Bea Nettles, professor of photography, received a Nexus Press Artist’s Initiated Project grant from the Atlanta Contemporary Arts Center.

liberal arts and sciences
Gerald Browne, professor of classics and of linguistics, was invited to give a paper titled "Marginalia Jernstedtiana" at the plenary session on Coptic Linguistics at the Seventh International Congress of Coptic Studies.

David G. Goodman, professor of East Asian languages and cultures, recently had his book, "Jews in the Japanese Mind," appear in an expanded paperback edition.
Laura Greene, professor of physics, was named to the Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee by U.S. Department of Energy Secretary Bill Richardson. The committee consists of representatives involved in energy-related scientific research.

George D. Klein, professor emeritus of geology, recently received the Laurence L. Sloss Award for Sedimentary Geology. The award was presented by The Geological Society of America at its annual meeting last November.

Gene Robinson, a professor of entomology, has won an Innovation Award in Functional Genomics from the Burroughs Wellcome Fund (BWF) to fund research on the ritualized social activities of bees to associate individual genes with particular behaviors. Robinson, who recently was honored with a Certificate of Distinction from the Council of the International Congresses of Entomology, hopes his BWF-funded study will link genes with aspects of complex social behavior, then extend this knowledge to better understand human behavior and dysfunctions, such as social phobias. He also was invited as a plenary speaker at the annual International Genome Sequencing and Analysis Conference of the Institute for Genomic Research.

Nils Jacobsen, professor of history, received a National Endowment for the Humanities fellowship for university teachers. The fellowship will allow Jacobsen to write his book manuscript full time. Jacobsen is addressing the trajectory of Peruvian nation state formation and of the meaning of revolution in Latin American history.

library and information science
Aaron Trehub, director of the Illinois Researcher Information Service (IRIS) and professor of library administration, recently visited Humboldt University Library in Berlin as part of an ongoing exchange program funded by the Mortenson Center for International Library Programs. He delivered a paper titled, "My Library, oder Interaktive Dienstleistungen: die Erfahrung einer akademischen Bibliothek" ("My Library, or Interactive Services: One Academic Library’s Experience").

Leslie Troutman, music user services coordinator and professor of library administration, was recently elected to a two-year term on the board of directors for the Music Library Association.

Robert Wedgeworth, professor emeritus and former university librarian, is this year’s recipient of the American Library Association (ALA) International Relations Committee’s John Ames Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award. The award, which is donated by OCLC/Forest Press, recognizes an individual for significant contributions to international librarianship.

Sue Searing’s title was incorrect in our last issue. Searing is the library and information science librarian and professor of library administration.



News Bureau, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
507 E. Green St., Suite 345, Champaign, Illinois 61820
Telephone 217-333-1085, Fax 217-244-0161, E-mail news@illinois.edu
about the u of i